Top 13 of 2013 – part 3

Posted by

What a year it’s been! While much has happened over the course of the past year some things stand out more than others. Over the next couple of days I will share, in no particular order, the top 13 worthy to be called out for a spotlight. (PS-all posts link back to pics or previous blog posts for you to enjoy or catch up on if you missed them the first time around.)

In case you missed Part 1 and Part 2, you can catch up on them by clicking on each before reading Part 3.

20130813-060606.jpg7. Purchasing my first tri bike: She’s a beautiful Specialized Transition and we spent some great time together training for IMFL late this summer–a fast ride that is going to make this year a whole lot more enjoyable.

8. Day of Action: On June 21 several companies, many community groups and lots of volunteers got together to do the most good on the longest day of the year. While many days of service often revolved around an aspect of physical service, we have been encouraging folks to consider volunteer work with a much longer lasting impact. Painting a classroom is great, but what about reading to a class and handing out books for the kids to take home. Therefore, we came up with a great day of service that not only spruced up a local inner-city public school but also brought much needed resources to the under-served community via a resource fair.

9. Easter at Home: It’s been a while since I have gotten to spend Easter at home for one reason or another but this year I made the trip and it was well worth it! I love getting the chance to spend holidays with my family especially with my nieces and my nephew. We made some fun memories over the kitchen table making edible crafts we found on pinterest.

10. Tumor Eviction: My life changed forever on September 18 when I heard the words “you have a tumor in your bone.” Surgery followed shortly thereafter on October 7 to remove the giant cell tumor located in my femur. I’ve spend lots of time detailing this on the blog so feel free to catch up in the other posts. Even though it’s not a highlight by any means, it sure has defined the last quarter of the year.

Thanks for reading as I reminisce about the past year–final part of the list will be posted tomorrow.

2 comments

Leave a comment